The short version.
A backup answers "give me the store as it was." A change history answers "what changed, when, from what to what, and who made it when Shopify reports it." They overlap when something goes wrong, which is why people searching for one find the other. Actorly keeps changes, not a copy of the store.
This page describes Undo Backup from its own listing, read on 2026-10-14, and links each fact to the page it came from. Its developer is Undo Backup & Storage, and the listing gives 2021-01-15 as its launch date. Undo Backup may have changed since, so check it. Undo Backup is another company's product and Actorly is not affiliated with it. We make Actorly, so weigh our entry accordingly.
Side by side.
| Topic | Undo Backup | Actorly |
|---|---|---|
| The job | Daily and real-time automated backup, with an object history and an automated changelog. listing | A searchable record of what changed in your store, with the old and new value. |
| What it keeps | Products, collections, blogs and more; its higher plans list all data types. listing | The changes it sees across 25 parts of a store, from the day it is installed. Not a copy of the store. |
| Restore | Backed-up items, with all data types restored on its Standard plan and above. listing | One field at a time, for 15 named fields, after you confirm the exact value, checked afterwards. No bulk restore, no whole-store restore, no restore to a date. |
| Who made a change | Not stated. listing | Product changes only, when Shopify reports it, beside Likely or Possible, and Unknown where Shopify records no one. |
| History kept | 90 days on Basic, 180 on Standard, 365 on Professional and Enterprise. listing | Three months on Watch. Unlimited while on Restore. |
| Price and trial | $7, $15, $39 or $79 a month, each with a 7-day free trial; product limits apply by plan. listing | Watch is $0, with no clock. Restore is $29 a month or $240 a year. Billed by Shopify, never per change. No trial. |
A cell that says Not stated means Undo Backup's page does not say, not that the thing is missing. We make Actorly, so weigh our entry accordingly.
Which to pick.
- You want an automated changelog beside backups of products and collections.
- You want versioned history, up to 365 days on its higher plans.
- You want real-time and event-based backups.
- You want to see what changed, when, and from what to what, without a copy of the store behind it.
- You want who made a product change shown only when Shopify reports it, beside how sure Actorly is, with Unknown shown rather than a guess.
- You want to put one field back and have Actorly check that it took.
- You want your history free to see.
They can sit side by side: each keeps its own record.
What Actorly will not do.
- It does not copy or restore a whole store.
- It does not restore themes or customers, and it never changes an order.
- It does not bring back a deleted product: deleted items are kept and shown, not recreated.
- The record starts the day Actorly is installed. It cannot show what your store looked like before that.
Undo Backup source.
- Undo: Backup and Restore, read on 2026-10-14
Questions.
Is Actorly an alternative to Undo Backup?
They do different jobs. Undo: Backup and Restore describes itself as secure, time-versioned and daily backups of your key store assets. Actorly keeps a record of what changed and can put select fields back. If you need a copy of the store to restore from, Undo Backup's own listing describes that job; Actorly does not do it.
Can I use Actorly and Undo Backup together?
They are separate, and Actorly keeps its own record from the day it is installed, whatever else is on the store. What Undo Backup does on its own side is for its listing to say.
Does Actorly show who made a change?
Only for product changes, only when Shopify reports it, and always with how sure Actorly is. Where Shopify records no one, the answer is Unknown, and Unknown is permanent.
What does Actorly cost?
Actorly Watch costs $0 and keeps three months of change history and one restore a month. Actorly Restore is $29 a month or $240 a year. Shopify bills it, never per change. There is no trial.
Is Actorly affiliated with Undo Backup?
No. Undo Backup is another company's product, described here from its own listing as read on 2026-10-14. It may have changed since, so check it.